Ashok Kulkarni

### REPORT OF LICENSING AND GENERAL PURPOSES COMMITTEE

# (SPECIAL) MEETING HELD ON 14 MAY 2007

\* Councillor Mrs Lurline Champagnie Chairman:

Councillors: Robert Benson

Don Billson Mrs Vina Mithani Mrinal Choudhury John Nickolay G Chowdhury Phillip O'Dell Mano Dharmarajah Raj Ray Thaya Idaikkadar Tom Weiss Nizam Ismail Jeremy Zeid

#### **PART I - RECOMMENDATIONS - NIL**

**PART II - MINUTES** 

#### 44. **Appointment of Chairman:**

RESOLVED: To note the appointment at the Annual Council Meeting on 10 May 2007 of Councillor Mrs Lurline Champagnie as Chairman of the Licensing and General Purposes Committee for the Municipal Year 2007/08.

#### 45. **Attendance by Reserve Members:**

RESOLVED: To note that there are no Reserve Members appointed to this Committee.

#### 46. **Declarations of Interest:**

**RESOLVED:** To note that there were no declarations of interests made by Members in relation to the business transacted at this meeting.

#### 47. **Arrangement of Agenda:**

RESOLVED: That (1) in accordance with the Local Government (Access to Information) Act 1985, the following item be admitted to the meeting by virtue of the special circumstances and grounds for urgency stated below:

#### Special Circumstances / Grounds for Urgency Item

7. Establishment of Sub-Committees and Panels 2007/08

This information was not available at the time the agenda was printed and circulated. The establishment of the Committee's subsidiary bodies was the main purpose of this Special meeting, and needed to be done as soon as possible in order to enable meetings of the Sub-Committees and Panels to be convened.

(2) all items be considered with the press and public present.

# 48.

<u>Appointment of Vice-Chairman:</u>
Councillors Mrinal Choudhury and Mrs Vina Mithani were nominated and duly seconded. Upon being put to a vote, it was

To appoint Councillor Mrs Vina Mithani as Vice-Chairman of the Licensing and General Purposes Committee for the Municipal Year 2007/08.

[Note: Councillors Mrinal Choudhury, Mano Dharmarajah, Thaya Idaikkadar, Nizam Ismail and Philip O'Dell wished to be recorded as having voted against this appointment].

<sup>\*</sup> Denotes Member present

# 49. Minutes:

**RESOLVED:** That the minutes of the ordinary meeting held on 27 November 2007, the special meeting held on 19 February 2007 and the ordinary meeting held on 5 March 2007 be deferred to the next ordinary meeting of the Committee.

### 50. <u>Establishment of Sub-Committee and Panels 2007/08:</u>

**RESOLVED:** That the Panels and Sub-Committees of the Licensing and General Purposes Committee be established for the Municipal Year 2007/08 with the memberships and Chairmen as detailed in the appendix to these minutes.

(Note: The meeting, having commenced at 6.32 pm, closed at 6.43 pm).

(Signed) COUNCILLOR MRS LURLINE CHAMPAGNIE Chairman

### **APPENDIX**

# **LICENSING AND GENERAL PURPOSES PANELS**

Miss Christine Bednell (CH)

Mrs Lurline Champagnie

1. Mrs Camilla Bath

2. Jean Lammiman

3. Mrs Vina Mithani

**Members** 

Reserve

Members

(Membership in order of political group nominations) Conservative Labour **Liberal Democrats** (1) CHIEF OFFICERS' EMPLOYMENT PANEL (5) (3) [(2) Voluntary] (2) (1) [From Conservative Group allocation] 1. Christopher Noyce 1. Leader of Group 1. Leader of Group <u>Members</u> (Councillor Chris Mote or (Councillor Navin Shah nominee) (CH) or nominee) 2. Deputy Leader of the Group 2. Deputy Leader of the Group (Councillor David Ashton or nominee). (Councillor **Bill Stephenson** or nominee). (2) EARLY RETIREMENT SUB-COMMITTEE (3) (Non-proportional) (2) (1) Mano Dharmarajah **Miss Christine Bednell** Members Richard Romain (CH) 1. Mrs Lurline Champagnie Keith Ferry 2. Narinder Singh Mudhar Reserve 2. -Members 3. Jeremy Zeid 3. -(3) EDUCATION AWARDS APPEALS PANEL (3) (2) (1)

Keeki Thammaiah

1. Raj Ray

## (4) LICENSING PANEL (3) (Pool of Members)

(To be selected from the following nominees)

**Robert Benson Don Billson** Mrs Lurline Champagnie **G** Chowdhury Ashok Kulkarni Mrs Vina Mithani John Nickolay **Tom Weiss** Jeremy Zeid

**Mrinal Choudhury** Mano Dharmarajáh **Nizam Ismail** Thaya Idaikkadar Phillip O'Dell Raj Ray

### (5) NATIONAL NON-DOMESTIC RATE: DISCRETIONARY RATE RELIEF APPEAL PANEL (3) (Pool of Members)

(To be selected from the following nominees)

**Don Billson** John Cowan Mrs Myra Michael John Nickolay Joyce Nickolay Dinesh Solanki **Mark Versallion** 

**Mrinal Choudhury Bob Currie** Mano Dharmarajah **Keith Ferry** Nizam Ismail **Dhirajlal Lavingia** 

### (6) PENSION FUND INVESTMENTS PANEL (4)

(2) (2)

Members

David Ashton \* (CH) Richard Romain

Mano Dharmarajah Thaya Idaikkadar

Reserve Members

1. Tony Ferrari 2. Mrs Lurline Champagnie

1 Keith Ferry 2. Nizam Ismail

3. Robert Benson

Harrow UNISON Co-optee (Non-voting): Mr R Thornton [Alternate: Mr J Rattray] GMB Co-optee: Mr S Karia

Co-optee (Non-voting): Howard Bluston

# (7) PERSONNEL APPEALS PANEL (3) (Pool of Members)

(To be selected from the following nominees)

Mrs Camilla Bath
Don Billson
Mrs Lurline Champagnie
John Cowan
Manji Kara
Jean Lammiman
Salim Miah
Joyce Nickolay

Mrs Anjana Patel Dinesh Solanki Jeremy Zeid Bob Currie

**Mrs Margaret Davine** 

B E Gate David Gawn Mitzi Green Graham Henson Dhirajlal Lavingia

Raj Ray

Bill Stephenson

# (8) SOCIAL SERVICES APPEALS PANEL (3) or ((2)) (Pool of Members)

(2)

Mrs Lurline Champagnie
Mrs Myra Michael
Mrs Vina Mithani
Eric Silver
Dinesh Solanki

B E Gate
Mitzi Green
Asad Omar
Asad Omar
Mrs Rekha Shah

(CH) = Chair (VC) = Vice-Chair

Denotes Group Members for consultation on Delegated Action and/or administrative matters.